teacherShou-Shing Hsieh received his BS from Tatung Institute of Technology, Taipei, Taiwan, 1973, MS from National Taiwan University, 1978 and Ph. D. from the Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio in 1983. From 1983 to 1984, he was a postdoctoral research fellow in mechanical engineering department at the Ohio State. Dr. Shou-Shing Hsieh has been on the mechanical engineering faculty of National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan since 1984 where he was promoted to full professor in 1989. He has served as chairman of ME Department from 1990 to 1996, Dean of Engineering, 1996 to 2002, and as director, energy research center (1987-1990) of the university. Now, he is also National Chair (Emeritus) of the Ministry of Education, Taiwan, ROC, and Distinguished Chair Professor (2011-2014;2014-2017) of the National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan.

He has made lasting (continued) research contributions on enhancement heat transfer, separated flow phenomena over roughened surfaces, high performance heat exchangers with strip type inserts, 3-D natural convection in enclosures, turbine blade internal cooling (both convective and impingement cooling) and boiling heat transfer on enhanced tubes. More than 124 technical articles have been published. Among them, 124+ are peer-refereed journal papers and he also holds four patents regarding a measurement device for lubricant oil concentration in vapor compression refrigeration systems, a new enhance tube design, fuel cell fabrications, and a high heat flux enhanced surface fabrication.

His outstanding work as a mechanical educator and researcher has made himself receiving National Sun Yat-Sen University Outstanding Teaching Award (1987), Defense Research Project Outstanding Performance Award (1987), Taiwan, ROC, National Sun Yat-Sen University Outstanding Research Award (1993), three times in a roll of National Science Council, Taiwan, ROC Outstanding Research Award from 1989 to 1995 and Chungshan Academy Award (1995), Ministry of Education Academy Award (1996), Taiwan, ROC, and three consecutive times of Sun Yat-Sen Chairprofessor (1997-2006) of the university. He receives CSME (Taipei) the Annual Best Paper Award in 2006. He is a recipient of National Science Council (NSC), Taiwan, Distinguished Researchership, a recipient of Level 1 Principal Investigator Award of NSC Project (2005-2008),the CSME “Mechanical Engineering” Gold Medal (the most prestigious award the CSME (Taipei) can give to it’s member, 2010), F. D. Sun Gold Medal (the most prestigious award the CSTAM can give to it’s member), an awardee of 2004 the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM) and a holder of National Chair Professor (2003-2009), Ministry of Education, Taiwan, ROC. He has been a member and Board of Governor (1994-1996) of the Chinese Society of Mechanical Engineers, Taipei (CSME, Taipei), and a member and President (1994 and 1995) of the Solar Energy Society of the Republic of China (SES/ROC). He was elected Fellow of the ASME in 1995, Fellow CSME(Taipei),  Fellow CSTAM in 2007, Fellow IET in 2013, and Fellow RSC in 2014. He is also an awardee for Ohio State University distinguished alumnus.

He is now serving on several international journal editorial board as a technical editor or regional editor which include the Chinese Journal of Mechanics, Taiwan(R.O.C), Journal of Thermodynamics and Int’l J. of Transport Phenomena.